How are Movies Categorized in India and Foreign Film Industry?

Have you ever wondered how movies are categorized? Well, if your answer is NO, then this article is a must-read, especially for those who live every character of the movies as their own life.

However, Indian movies have several genres, which are: Action, Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Mystery, Romance, Thriller, Science Fiction, Slice of Life, Sports, War, and Western.

Meanwhile, you should know how movies are categorized for certification.

However, if you want to watch latest bollywood movie, then switch to 9xflix and enjoy with your loved ones. 

Categorized Movies for Certification

Film-lovers in India may shortly have to contend with many other certification labels than they have been categorized earlier in 1942.

The information and broadcasting (I&B) ministry has developed a draft Cinematograph Bill 2010, which deals with numerous rating procedures.

The suggested bill is in order with foreign rules, mainly the rating and category system utilized by the Motion Picture Producers’ Association of America.

Meanwhile, Indian movies are presently considered U for unrestricted exhibition.

  • U/A for child allowed only if followed by an adult
  • And A for adults only

New Rule for Categorization

The new policy may authorize movies as U, 12+, 15+, and A.

Movies may also be distinct ‘S’ if they are made for populations residing in a particular profession or class.

As per the draft bill, the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), generally identified as the censor board, shall assign a ‘U’ certificate if it holds the movie suited for unrestricted viewership.

2+ and 15+ Certificate

The Censor Board will also issue the ‘12+’ and ‘15+’ certificates if the movie is made for audiences above the ages of 12 and 15 years, correspondingly.

An A Certificate

It will also announce an ‘A’ certification for people aged 18 and above.

The expected bill further underscores that a movie shall not be permitted for showcase if it is considered as being against the rights of the jurisdiction and unity of India, the preservation of the state, peaceful relationships with overseas states, civil order, virtue, and integrity, or means defamation or contempt of court.

According to the recent bill, the central authority may institute advisory boards at provincial centers for the continuous operation of the CBFC.

The advisory groups will consist of representatives who are experienced to evaluate the effects of movies on the audience.

The ministry department desires at least a third of the representatives on the advisory board to be women.

Five Types of Ratings for Movies in the US

There are five different types of categories for movies, which are:

  • G, for general public of all ages
  • PG, representing parental teaching
  • PG 13, urging parents that the movie may be unsuitable for kids below 13
  • R, meaning kids under 17 should be attended by a parent
  • NC-17, indicating that younger kids than 18 must not be taken
  • And, if a movie is not suggested for a rating in America, NR or ‘not rated’ is applied

Now, you know movies are categorized. In case you want to enjoy classic or modern movies, then make sure to visit